California Globetrotter

California Globetrotter

The Sisterhood Of The World Bloggers Award

9 Comments

California Globetrotter

So I have to be very honest right now. I recently heard of this blog just a few weeks ago while perusing another female blogger’s site and read through her answers and remember thinking, “Wow, this is a great award! She totally deserves it because you could see her hard work throughout her readers the best possible experience when on her site.” And then I remember thinking, “I would feel so honored to be nominated because that would mean that my blog has reached someone who found it worthy of such a nomination.” I did not at all ever think it would happen so fast let alone at all.

I am still totally new at being in this new blogging community and I have so much more to learn but I am thankful there are many wonderful blogger gals out there who are willing to help, share and teach other aspiring bloggers like myself reach their goals. Every blog is unique and special in their own ways and I am soooo THANKFUL to be considered worthy of such a nomination when there are way more awesome, professional looking blogs by women who have a powerful voice when writing. It’s moments like this that truly make me proud of my blog and the effort I have put into sharing my insatiable wanderlust with you!

So again, I would like to thank Natalie from Mamma Loves Travel for nominating me and feeling that I was worthy enough to receive this special recognition.

The rules of the award, should my nominees wish to accept their nomination:

-Mention the blogger who nominated you

-Answer her 10 questions

-Nominate 10 bloggers worthy of the award

-Ask your nominees 10 questions

I respect that some of you may be quite busy, or travelling somewhere in the world, so please do not feel pressured to participate in the award if it isn’t something you are able to give up your time for.

Here are my answers for Natalie’s 10 questions:

IMG_4234

I have been traveling the world since I was practically born. It must have started that minute my mama stepped onto a plane bound for Okinawa, Japan while she was still pregnant with me. My mama raised me to always have a sense of adventure and a go-go-go attitude traveling around the states. By the time I was 14, my parents took me with them to Europe and ever since I haven’t been able to stop. Now I live in Europe and my thirst has grown unquenchable.

IMG_4235

I originally chose the name Lolo Goes to Germany waaay back when I first moved to Germany in 2012. However, I could not for the life of me figure out how to use WordPress. I am not at all computer savvy when it comes to the technical side. So I found out my neighbor was also a travel blogger and invited him over to teach me the ropes. I decided then and there on the spot to change my name (randomly and feeling rushed) to California Globetrotter. Being as I am from California, that’s why that got put in there. Months later I thought about changing my name again, but I felt it was already too late.

IMG_4236

At the moment having just recently returned from Croatia, I’m going to have to say Plitvice Lakes National Park blew my mind and way beyond exceeded my expectations. I have wanted to go for years and looked at picture after picture always thinking “Wow, that’s beautiful! I have to see this!” But then I got there and it was way more stunning than any picture could ever truly capture. It’s a place in the world I highly feel everyone should visit at least once in their lifetime! Never in my life have I have seen water so crystal blue and clear or seen so many fish so clearly along the shores or cascading waterfalls so majestic. Words cannot possibly describe this place accurately enough.

IMG_4237

  1. Andalusia, Spain road trip – Seville for the Feria de Abril festival to Cordoba to Granada to Malaga with a detour to Ronda and Gibraltar
  2. Loire Valley, France castle road trip – hitting up Château Chambord, Château d’Amboise, Château d’Azay-le-Rideau and Château de Chenonceau with a stop in Tours.
  3. French Riviera road trip starting with Menton for a Lemon festival, hitting up Monte Carlo, Villefrache-sur-Mer which was seen in the movie An Affair to Remember, Nice/Cote d’azur

IMG_4238

Before I started travel blogging, I grew up scrapbooking all my travels and life experiences. I also made them as gifts for family as I was such a scrapbook-aholic! But I never really got to show off my travels and share my stories to friends and family who probably felt like all I was doing was bragging. Since moving to Germany, it has been hard to scrapbook as they do not have the supplies required for detailed scrapbooking. When I was introduced to blogging, it started out just as a journal for friends and family. But I soon discovered how much I loved it and started to take it the next level and sharing my travel expertise. Now I rarely scrapbook, which is kind of sad.

IMG_4239

I live by quotes of all kinds. My favorites though are always travel related. My favorite is the cliché quote everyone loves: “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page” by St. Augustine. However, my ultimate quote that I love is: “One day you will wake up and there won’t be anymore time to do the things you’ve always wanted. Do it now” by Paulo Coelho. I have always been a believer of living your life to the fullest extent and not living it full of regrets and I wishes. I don’t want to get to the end of my life and have nothing to show for it but a bunch of “I wish I hads”.

IMG_4240

All of my best girl friends: Pam, Stephanie, Cheri, Alyssa and Karen. If we were all together, it would be such a blast and I have always wanted a vacay with my best girls! Maybe I should forewarn them that I will have a destination bachelorette party when the time comes!🙂

IMG_4241

At the moment, my most popular blog is 18 Reasons Why You Will Never Be the Same After Living in Germany. I sporadically wrote that blog and it turned out to be a hit. Guess a lot of people have lived in Germany at some point and have some pretty sweet memories from living here and miss it a lot!

IMG_4242

Several things. While living in Europe it is absolutely necessary to have an umbrella with you at all times because you never know when a storm will blow in even on the sunniest of days. However, when traveling, my new Canon EOS 100D never leaves my hands. I always stand at the ready, looking to snap that one great memory.

IMG_4243

“Live your dreams”. So I took those words to heart and I followed my dreams. There was a time I so badly wanted a different dream to come true, almost loosing sight of what I really wanted. But I knew deep in my heart, I was meant to live in Europe. July 2015 marks my 3rd anniversary of living my dream in Germany and traveling around Europe with the man that I love. So now I have to thank my mama for always encouraging me to do what I love the most even when I almost lost sight of it.

The following ladies have been chosen specifically for the quality of their blogs which inspire me to travel more, blog more and experience more. Several of these gals I have communicated with and enjoy reading their blogs on a weekly basis and feel that they contribute to the world of traveling blogging and are worthy of the Sisterhood of World Bloggers Award.

And lovely ladies I nominate for this award are:

  1. Meredith from Kaffee und Kuchen
  2. Hannah from Traveller Days
  3. Patricia from The Journey Journal
  4. Carly from Girl Out-of-Bounds
  5. Caroline from the Belle Abroad
  6. Kelly from The Wandering Blonde
  7. Kara from Heels in my Pack
  8. Bevchen from Confuzzledom
  9. Adri T from City of the Week
  10. Claire from Tall Girl Big World

And now my questions for you amazing ladies:

  1. When did you realize you were a travel addict?
  2. Where will you never ever travel to again?
  3. What was the most thrill-inducing activity you have ever done while traveling?
  4. Have you ever had a terrible travel companion to the point you couldn’t wait for the trip to be over?
  5. Where is one place you keep going back and visiting over and over again?
  6. What advice could you give to newbie travel bloggers?
  7. Is there something you always have to do in every city you visit?
  8. Where was the first place you visited overseas?
  9. If you could live in any country right now, where would you live?
  10. If you could go back in time, what time period would you love to travel the world in?

Happy Blogging Ladies!

Author: California Globetrotter

At 14 I started traveling the world with my parents and was hooked! By 21 I was studying abroad in Heidelberg, Germany. By 26 I sold all of my belongings and bought a one way ticket to Germany to teach English. Little did I know, I'd meet the love of my life and end up traveling to the most romantic and idyllic towns in Europe and becoming a long-term expat in Bavaria! My name is Lorelei and I'm just your typical CaliGirl, Sunset Chaser, Fairytale Dreamer, Dress Lover, Traveloholic, Beer Drinker!

9 thoughts on “The Sisterhood Of The World Bloggers Award

  1. Thank you so much for the nomination! I actually was nominated a couple of weeks ago and answered the questions in a post on my blog. I’m really touched that you thought of me!😀

  2. Thanks for accepting the award, I really enjoyed reading your responses. I’d love to visit the Loire Valley, we almost went there on our recent European trip but I changed my mind and spent an extra week in Croatia instead (no regrets there!). Glad you enjoyed Plitvice Lakes so much! Looking forward to reading what you thought of Krka- I think Krka has more impressive waterfalls than Plitvice. Both parks are worth visiting!

  3. Aww, thank you! I will try to get round to doing this soon.
    The castle road trip is a fantastic idea!

  4. Thank you so much for the nomination!! It makes me so happy that you thought of me🙂 Loved reading your answers!

  5. Thank you so much for the nomination! I’ll certainly answer these questions in an upcoming blog post. I loved reading all of your responses and getting to know you better!🙂
    -Claire
    Tallgirlbigworld.com

  6. Lovely award, lovely blog. Hope a nomination gets to Nigeria soon enough.

    http://www.lifestreasury.com

  7. Pingback: Liebster Award: Get to Know California Globetrotter Better! | California Globetrotter

Leave a Reply

