California Globetrotter

Blaubeuren's Blautopf - California Globetrotter

Blaubeuren’s Blautopf

58 Comments

IMG_5918

You know when you’re scrolling for hours upon hours on Pinterest because you.just.can’t.stop? Ya, that happens to me quite often! And one of those days, I found a pretty picture of a small house with bright, turquoise water and I knew I had to pin it. I never thought I would actually make it there, but there it sat for a long time in my Germany Bucket List on Pinterest.

I saved it because I knew one day I would find a reason to go. Well this weekend, we finally decided to take a little road trip (3 hours away – which is like an eternity for Germans and therefore should actually be turned into a weekend vacation, but us Americans can get’er done in a day) to see Schloss Lichtenstein. Not wanting to just go to the castle, I searched through my Germany pin board for things which might be near the castle we could squeeze in, not far from either Ulm or Tübingen.

Low and behold: the small town of Blaubeuren.

Now, I assumed this would be a ten minute stop, snap a picture and get back in the car and continue on to the castle.

Nope. How wrong I was…

In case you’re interested, PIN IT FOR LATER!!

_____________________________________________________________________

Ok, so I guess we should have researched the town a bit more. I assumed it would be a small town and somewhere within would be this stunning picturesque must-see-sight and that would be it.

Well, we stopped at the tourist center (**First hint that the town was probably more popular than I imagined) to grab a map. Well turns out there was actually more to see than just the Blautopf. So, we followed the map’s walking tour and found that the town was actually a hidden gem! Turns out, Blaubeuren lays right along the Deutsches Fachwerkstrae (German Timber-Frame Road)  – a scenic route in Germany stretching from the Elbe River in the north to Lake Constance in the south, lined with half-timbered houses. I hope to drive this all one day!

On Webergasse were two beautiful half-timbered houses, “Groes Haus” (Big House) and “Kleines Groes Haus” (Little Big House). I just loved the names! And what was interesting, is that on the historic houses, the history of the house was painted on the side.

Further ahead at Marktplatz was the small main square of the town and the City Hall with a pretty little water fountain. IMG_5869

As we reached Blautopfstrasse, we found an adorable little hotel call Waldhorn Gasthaus near the Blaubeuren Abbey which was founded in 1085.

Inside the walls of the Blaubeuren Abbey was a nice little park and the church which was unfortunately completely covered in scaffolding. Also, there was Badhaus der Mönche (Bath house for the Monks) which is now a museum and is Germany’s only Bath house for Monks.

Blautopf literally translates to “Blue Pot”, therefore, as you make your way to the town’s main attraction, you’ll easily be able to find your way as there are blue pots everywhere with an arrow pointing you in the right direction. IMG_5860

Finally, we reached the most magical and enchanting part of the entire town, which at the beginning looks more like a restaurant and a tourist hot spot. That’s how we knew we were in the right place! Plus, we discovered it’s a biker’s stop for both bikers and cyclists! IMG_5882

We took so many pictures because every.single.angle was just BREATHTAKING! It reminded me of a fairy tale like Little Red Riding Hood with the forest surrounding the Blautopf and a small half-timbered house with it’s water wheel endlessly turning.

IMG_5875

Like this post? Take it with you as GPS Guided App directly to your phone via GPSMyCity!

There is a little path that goes up and around the Blautopf which offers more amazing views, as if it could get better.

The stunning blue water is a a spring which is the source of the river Blau which forms has formed caves due to its high pressure. The stunning blue color of the water varies depending on the weather and the flow of water, which is the result of the limestone in the water. Every now and then, the spring boils over gushing out 32,000 liters/second, more than the average 2,300 liters. It has a similar effect as at the Blue Lagoon in Reykjavik, Iceland.

So far, speleologists have explored and mapped more than 11 km of passages and shafts, however, their explorations are not yet finished!
While researching, I discovered that there are actually a few myths and legends about how the spring got its beautiful blue color and this is what I found according to Wikipedia:

“Its characteristic colour was explained by the account that every day someone would pour a vat of ink into the Blautopf. Another myth stated that every time someone tried to measure the Blautopf’s depth with a leaden sounding line, a water nix stole the sounding line. Therefore, it was not possible to determine the depth of the Blautopf. Because of this tale, there is a rock called Klötzle Blei (“little block of lead” in the local dialect)”

IMG_5874IMG_5879

I couldn’t stop staring that we ended up sitting down and enjoying brunch, taking in the sound of the small waterfall and the turning of the water wheel.

There is also a chance to dive in the spring, but only for well-trained divers as the entrance to the spring is about 60 feet (18 meters) deep. Unfortunately, it is restricted only to the well-trained divers and certain clubs as there have been a few losses of life.

After we were done walking around the spring, we headed back into the town and wound our way through the streets back to our car. Along the way, we found Hoher Wil (Steep Roof) along Achgasse. Apparently, in the old days, the tanners who lived along this alley used to dry their animal hides on their roofs. The house alone was exciting to look at as you wondered how on earth it is still standing and how terrifying it must be to stand on the wooden balcony.

For More information on Blaubeuren click here!

Other sights to see in the area:

Ulm and the Wiblingen Monastery Library

Schloss Lichtenstein

Burg Hohenzollern

Liked this post? PIN IT FOR LATER!!

IMG_5854

Save

Save

Save

Save

Author: California Globetrotter

Hi there! Guten Tag! My name is Lorelei, aka Lady Lolo, I’m an American expat living in Germany and if you're looking for fairytale half-timbered towns, romantic castles and amazing, relatively undiscovered towns absent of hordes of tourists, you've come to the right place! Come along with me as I uncover hidden gems!

58 thoughts on “Blaubeuren’s Blautopf

  1. Lovely town! It was a nice surprise for you that the town had more to offer than you thought, right 🙂

  2. German towns are so beautiful. I love the back story to this, what a great example of pinterest at its finest. The blue pots are super quirky too. You’d also love Lake Constance if you get a chance to return. #citytripping

  3. Thanks for sharing this pretty German town. We will be planning a road trip round Germany in the next few months. Adding to our list.

  4. Adding this to my must see places in Germany now too. I love all your posts about places in Germany. So helpful to us in finding places to spend our off days. Now to tell the husband the summer list just grew again… hehehe #CityTripping

  5. So. Much. Freaking. Wow.
    I have no words beyond that. My love for Germany just grew.
    #CityTripping

  6. This place is incredible!! Wow! So much beauty in one place. I love the half-timbered houses and the beautiful blue water! Definitely worth the three hour drive! Thank you for linking to #citytripping

  7. What a wonderful way to spend a day! I love when you have those expected moments where you find travel gems!

  8. I am guilty of spending too much time in Pinterest too. I keep discovering interesting places there.I am glad you got surprised by this town and region. I love when that happens.

  9. Such a picturesque town. Thanks for sharing #WanderfulWednesday

  10. What an iconic place and pleasant surprise. You look beautiful in that dress btw!

  11. Wow Blaubeurens Blautopf looks so stunningly beautiful! I agree with you that I could totally see a fairy tale character walking among all of those picturesque houses! And you’re so right that as Americans we would view the 3 hour drive as a day road trip!

  12. You definitely did find a true gem there! This place looks amazing and although I’ve never heard of it before, I know that there’s lots of places like this along the Fachwerkstrasse. I grew up near it further north and my hometown has houses like these too. They’re just gorgeous, aren’t they?!

  13. Look at that water – amazing! And how lovely to discover there’s so much more than the star attraction, this looks so pretty to walk around. Thanks for joining up with #citytripping

  14. Pinterest and Instagram are the best for finding the cutest places to visit! This being no exception, it looks amazing. Such a good find 🙂

  15. Pingback: Schloss Lichtenstein | California Globetrotter

  16. Haha.. Big house and Little big house? This is so funny! And the blue pot direction signs are pretty genius. I think I would love this town. They seem to have a sense of humour! But the part on divers dying in the spring is scary. #MondayEscapes

  17. This town looks amazing! I love little German towns. Thanks for the travel inspiration, we will be adding this to our much visit list. #MondayEscapes

  18. It does look like a fairytale – and that water! So fun you made your pinterest dream come true! #mondayescapes

  19. Hi Lorelei, what a beautiful photography! This place looks so idyllic and enchanting. And I agree, Pinterest can be VERY addictive – guilty as charged 🙂 xoxo, nano | travelwithnanob.com

  20. Wow, absolutely beautiful pictures! This town is exactly my kind of destination – I love storybook places like this!

  21. OMG, this city is soooo pretty! I swear I’ve never heard about it until now, so I thank you for that 😀
    Already added it on my list!
    It was great seeing you on Saturday, even though it was for a short time 😀

    #MondayEscapes

    • Oh now you’ll definitely need to go! Ya it was a shame we couldn’t catch up longer! We’ll have to meet again soon! We’re in Munich quite often at the moment for wedding preparations so maybe we can grab dinner or something one day!

  22. Oh man! Another great tip. I look forward to visiting here, too. By the way, I can not remember the last time a saw a photo of Leberkäse. Nice!

  23. How beautiful! I love these towns!

  24. It really is like a fairy tale. That house is so cute and love the color of the water. Thanks for sharing this town that I probably would have never heard of otherwise. #TheWeeklyPostcard

  25. Germany is high on my list and now this place is too. Wow! #TheWeeklyPostcard

  26. Wow! I’m adding this to my bucket list. I must see this town. I love how so many little German towns have a history behind them. #TheWeeklyPostcard

  27. Wowww!!! So beautiful. I haven’t heard of this city before, but I would love to go there. Thank you so much for linking up this week in the Weekend Wanderlust community! ❤

  28. Pingback: The Most Picturesque Half-Timbered Towns in Germany | California Globetrotter

  29. Pingback: 2016: A Year in Review | California Globetrotter

  30. Pingback: Top Places to Visit in Germany! | California Globetrotter

  31. Pingback: Ultimate List of Day Trips from Munich | California Globetrotter

  32. Wow! What beautiful town. Architecture is amazing

  33. What a beautiful place, you are right it is like Red Riding Hood’s home. Fantastic architecture plus the lagoon, it’s like time stood still. #Wkendtravelinspiration
    Also – have a wonderful time in Lucerne!

  34. I had no idea there was an official road for half-timbered houses! I should have known, however. There is a road for everything in Germany. We live on the Porzellanstrasse or Porcelain Route. Thanks for the inspiration; see you next week! #wkendtravelinspiration

  35. Beautiful houses! I really love the one with the water wheel, it’s so lovely.

  36. It’s an amazing feeling when you have wanted to see or do something for a long time and you get to do it, especially when you don’t think you will. great photos! #wkendtravelinspiration

  37. Adorbsbable! That’s a real word. I love local lore and legend. The Scandis are great at it. Apparently so are the Germans. Love the little blue buckets. Thanks for sharing this little German gem with #FarawayFiles, Erin

  38. Love those myths and legends and the little blue pots guiding the way. The house with the waterwheel is absolutely gorgeous. Adding to my Germany list! Thanks Lori #FarawayFiles

  39. Thoses houses, and flowers and that waterwheel! It really looks glorious. What a great place to discover. #farawayfiles

  40. That blue is so beautiful, it makes it so much more striking than some of the other timber-framed towns you’ve featured (also so pretty but the blue makes it that bit more special). I’m putting this on my wish list for Germany for sure. Thanks for sharing on #FarawayFiles

Leave a comment